And so a new era begins

At last it’s happening. In two weeks time I will be a full-time author.
The shackles of employment – of 34 years in the same job – will be cast aside and in the style of Braveheart I will be yelling “FREEDOM!” at the top of my lungs.
Of course, I will actually be swapping one set of shackles for another, because a novel-in-the-making is probably the hardest taskmaster of all.
I have no doubt that it will be hungry for attention and will intrude constantly, but it will be a labour of love.
The part I’m looking forward to is when somebody asks, “and what do you do for a living?”
And I’ll genuinely be able to say, “I’m a writer.”
How glorious is that!

One comment

Leave a Reply

